magbo system


Educator of the Year, Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication’s Newspaper and Online Division (2014).

Named to Journalism’s Best in #Journalism List (February 2014).

Named to Who’s Who in Memphis Twitter by local alt-weekly The Memphis Flyer (2013).

Top Research Paper Award, International Symposium on Online Journalism (2013).

Fellowship, Tow Center for Digital Journalism, City University of New York. (2013)

Winner, Alumni Association Distinguished Teaching Award, 2013. A university-wide honor.

Nominee, Thomas W. Briggs Foundation Excellence in Teaching Award.  (2013 and 2012).

Fellowship, Scripps Howard Entrepreneurial Journalism Institute at Arizona State University. (January 2013).

Named one of the “smartest people in journalism” by Harvard’s Nieman Lab (December 2012 and 2013).

Named to Top 100 Most Tech Savvy Professors of 2012 list by Best Online Universities LLC. (2012).

Scholarship award winner to attend Poynter Institute’s Developing a Mobile Strategy Seminar. (March 2012).

American Society of News Editors (ASNE) Scholarship (2012). Nominated by Commercial Appeal executive editor Chris Peck.

Nominee, Alumni Association Distinguished Advising Award. (2010)

Kappa Tau Alpha journalism honors society (inducted 2008)

Phi Beta Kappa (inducted 1997)

Phi Kappa Phi (inducted 1997)

University of Wisconsin Dean’s List for seven semesters (1994-1998)

University of Wisconsin Madison School of Journalism Scholarship (1997-1998)

Wisconsin Academic Excellence Scholarship (full tuition) (1994-1998)

Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholarship (1994-1998).

Grants Awarded

Scripps Howard Foundation, $71,500/year for Teen Appeal, citywide high school newspaper program. Wrote annual grant renewal proposals, administer funds, secured increase from $70,000 to $71,500 in 2010. (2008-2012)

 Looking Out Foundation, $1000 for establishing the SafeZone program and providing materials for training sessions. This program establishes a visible volunteer network to support campus LGBT community.  Wrote successful grant proposal, administer funds. (2011).